Author: Jay Howard
Georgia outlines its minimum liability car insurance requirements on its state website. Here, residents can learn more about what protection they’re required by law to have before taking to the road in the Peach State. Drivers who do not secure this protection won’t have the means to adequately respond to an accident.
If you’ve been in an accident with an uninsured driver, you may not know who to hold responsible for your losses. While it’s instinctive to blame the other driver, that party may not have the means to help you financially recover from your losses.
Uninsured Driver Liability in Georgia
All drivers on the road in Georgia must obtain the state’s minimum liability coverage. This coverage is supposed to protect all applicable parties from minor collisions and accidents. Drivers who don’t secure this coverage can find themselves in uncomfortable financial positions should they be deemed responsible for another person’s accident.
At a minimum, drivers in Georgia should have:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
You can check in with your insurance provider to ensure you have the coverage you need before you take to the road. You can also invest in uninsured/underinsured driver insurance if you want to protect yourself from drivers who fail to meet the state’s expectations.
If you get into an accident with a driver and aren’t sure of their standing with an insurance provider, make sure you exchange information at the scene of the accident. Should the driver in question prove uncooperative, you can request that a lawyer help you gain the information you need to pursue compensation for your losses.
File a Claim Against the Uninsured Party
Should you get into an accident with another party, it may not be clear who you need to hold liable for your losses. In most cases, you can pursue a civil suit against the party you believe to be liable for your losses.
Your ability to name a party liable for your losses depends on the evidence available to you at the scene of the accident. Evidence like video footage, physical debris, and bystander testimony all establish specific parties as responsible for your losses, so long as you present them in your complaint.
Work With Your Insurance Provider
Your reaction to an uninsured car accident is, in some ways, influenced by your insurance provider. While you can challenge an insurance provider’s interpretation of accident fault, that provider’s input can also influence what compensation you may be entitled to.
At Tabbaa Law, we can compare an estimate of your post-accident compensation with that support offered by an applicable insurance provider. We can take the applicable parties to court if it appears that your provider appears reluctant to give you the support you deserve.
Tabbaa Law Stands With You After Uninsured Driver Collisions
Uninsured drivers put themselves and every other motorist on the road in significant danger. Unfortunately, it can be difficult for you to adequately recover in the wake of an accident with one such driver. Instead of contending with this situation alone, let us at Tabbaa Law give you a hand.
We want to make it simple for you to secure the compensation you need to recover from a car accident. You can learn more about how we support our clients during an initial case consultation. To schedule your appointment, call (770) 370-7881 or reach out via our contact form.Auto Accidents